Skip to content

Lawyers use of ChatGPT backfires

Discussion
  • OpenAI’s ChatGPT has impressed users with its incredible ability to write essays, speeches, do homework, crack computer code and pen poems - but it’s also prone to providing information that is incorrect.

https://news.sky.com/story/lawyers-fined-after-citing-bogus-cases-from-chatgpt-research-12908318

• You’d think that for such a flagrant breach of the law from the very same institution designed to uphold it would attract a much harsher punishment than a USD 5,000 fine.

I’d say this is the equivalent of lying in court - perjury in fact, and you’d think that same institution would impose greater sanctions, such as revoking their license to practice law - particularly as they stood by the complete diatribe of false information they presented.

A complete breakdown in terms of fact checking, and I’m surprised this case wasn’t thrown out as a result.

I’m not a lawyer by any stretch of the imagination, but this truly begs belief.

• lol just 5000? But on top of lying, this is stupidity… incompetence of the law firm…

maybe you remember, previously I was mentioning about this “fake” references before on this forum, when I asked about my own field to chatgpt and asked for some reading suggestions, it gave me completely made up scientific article names that looks very legit, and I was very surprised how I could not know these articles… later, it turns out, it is imitating article names and sounds legit, however, those references do not exist.

if I use the court decision in “crazycells v. Sudonix” case as example, I would at least search for the case and read the decision 1 time…

• @crazycells said in Lawyers use of ChatGPT backfires:

lol just 5000? But on top of lying, this is stupidity… incompetence of the law firm…

I know - begs belief.

@crazycells said in Lawyers use of ChatGPT backfires: