Skip to content

Which product is the best for VPN?

Configure
  • @JAC said in Which product is the best for VPN?:

Nord keeps logging me out randomly and disconnections are becoming more and more frequent.

This is EXACTLY my issue - very annoying.

@JAC said in Which product is the best for VPN?:

Proton just feels that much more like they care about Privacy, you get the sense it’s not false but genuine and I see no reason not to put my trust in them, with scepticism of course but a brand you feel you can trust over let’s say Kape.

Yes, being a Swiss based firm, privacy is #1 on their agenda. The pricing doesn’t appear too steep in my view. I have a subscription (paid in advance) with NordVPN until November 2024, so over a year’s worth yet to use. However, I may try Proton VPN on my Android device. My only observation with the free plan is 3 locations - Netherlands, US, and Japan - obviously, the UK is the primary choice for latency reasons alone.

• @jac I’m trialling for one month using Proton VPN. I really like its simplicity, and it seems very stable - time will tell of course. I’ve also installed it on my phone. One thing I have immediately noticed is that there is a VPN accelerator, which works very well and certainly does dramatically improve speed.

I’ll post back here with results.

• @JAC ok, so I’m back here already. I’m glad I only opted for one month of Proton VPN because…

• The performance is lacklustre to say the least 😱
    • It’s as slow as hell which makes it almost unusable for day to day operations 😠
    • I also saw that the servers in the list had high loads - some around 80% meaning speed was being severely impacted 😮
    • Split Tunnel does not seem to work at all 😧